• Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Steven

• Born

• Ken Roy

• thewillistree

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I've had a go at creating a map showing all geo-coded locations in the tree. Clicking the pins on the map takes you back to the placesearch.php page.

A few warnings;

This has only been tested on TNG 6.2 with template 4

I've only tested with less than 100 locations

I'm new to PHP & Javascript so this probably isn't the most robust or secure code

but it seems to work OK on my website

Hope you find it useful

world_map.zip

Hello Roger,

thank you for writing this piece of Code. Unfortunately it does not work at my page. I edited the three lines and uploaded the file to my root. It always stops at the line with ShowTheMap(); and the end of the script. So I tried to include the googlemaplib-files and also tried to store the file in the googlemap-folder but always the same error. Then I reduces the amount of locations in the select statement by selecting only locations beginning with "a" but still the same error. Could you have a look to it? Please check: www.ziegenfuss-genealogy.de/world_map.php

Thank's a lot in advance,

Marco Born

Hello Roger,

thank you for writing this piece of Code. Unfortunately it does not work at my page. I edited the three lines and uploaded the file to my root. It always stops at the line with ShowTheMap(); and the end of the script. So I tried to include the googlemaplib-files and also tried to store the file in the googlemap-folder but always the same error. Then I reduces the amount of locations in the select statement by selecting only locations beginning with "a" but still the same error. Could you have a look to it? Please check: www.ziegenfuss-genealogy.de/world_map.php

Marco Born

I didn't change one thing and it ran on my site... BUT... with 2362 places it took at least 5 minutes to finish....

And the US was one big red blob.