TNG Community

USER logic

bridgebum

I'm a newbie, and can't grasp the logic of why to create user accounts? If anyone visits my TNG site, it seems everything can be seen. What should be restricted? How and what do you set restrictions to be for Guest visitors? I understand one can set restrictions for registered accounts to specific trees, but if you do not have but one tree, what good is that? I'm missing something here. Thanks.

User accounts can be helpful if you want to restrict data from the general public, such as birth dates and names of people that are living. This way you can store that information in TNG without 'compromising' some privacy.

Also, creating users can allow those you trust to help out in putting information in about individuals.

For those visitors to my site, I set the privacy options (under TNG Admin - Setup >> Configuration >> General Settings >> Privacy)

Require Login: NO

Show LDS Data: Depends on user rights

Show Living Data: Depends on user rights

Show Names for Living: Abbreviate first name

This provides some privacy about those who are living. It can be more restrictive if desired.

From the help file:

Require Login

Normally anyone can view your public pages, with a login to see data for living individuals being optional. If, however, you want to require everyone to log in before they can see anything beyond the home page, check this box.

Show LDS Data

To always show LDS data (where available), select Always (this was the default before). To turn off all LDS information and the ability to manually enter LDS data, select Never. To make this switch dependent on user permissions, select Depending on user rights. In this case, only logged-in users who have rights to see LDS data will see it. It will be hidden from all others.

Show Living Data