TNG Community

Trying to grasp the difference(s) between TNG's media Categories and Albums

JMM

• TNG 14.0.4

Hello, folks,

When I add media to my TNG site, I am given the choice of placing media items into Categories (either the categories that come with TNG, or I can create new categories to put the media in).  I understand that, and have been using categories for years.

But TNG also has something called Albums, which I have never used before (and know absolutely nothing about :mrgreen:).  I don't mean external albums (such as X3 and Piwigo, etc.), but TNG's built-in albums.

Can anyone who uses both explain briefly the differences between categories & albums, and how they're used, please?

If anyone who uses both AND has an open site (in other words, does not require logging-in to see items in their site's categories and albums)... that would be great.

Thank you in advance & have yourselves a great day.

Regards,
John

I used to use Albums a long time ago, but I found they were too difficult to maintain, since I imported my data into TNG from my external genealogy software (Family Historian) and Albums are a non-GEDCOM structure, that is to say they only exist in TNG and can't be imported or exported. A bit like the Cemeteries in TNG, they only exist in TNG. So I spent a lot of time maintaining media in TNG that got wiped when I reset my tree.

My take on it is that Media Categories define what sort of document the media represents - is it a photo, a certificate, a census, or so on. By grouping them into categories it makes them easier to search.