Jump to content
TNG Community
Paul McKnight

Pictures of living people being shown

Recommended Posts

Paul McKnight

I was always under the impression that TNG withheld information of living people. That appears not to be the case. Yesterday I was showing a Genealogy Society TNG 13.0.4. The question was "do you withhold information on living people?" Yes was my response and went to my profile, I was not logged in, and much to my amazement there was information there that I expected not to see. There was no profile picture or birth dates as I expected. Further down in Photos was a group picture of all 7 living direct family cousins. I clicked on the picture and the tag names showed for all. I then clicked on each tag. Out of the seven, two showed the profile picture, the rest did not. All withheld birth information. What's up with that? I was expecting not even to see the picture of all 7 of as we are all living. I checked to make sure living was checked for each person and it is. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Rob Severijns

Paul,

Have you checked these settings in the user profile,

image.png

And did you check the privacy settings

image.png

Rob

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
bhemph

Also check the media to see if the "Always viewable" checkbox is checked.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Paul McKnight

Thanks for your input but none of the 2  individuals are "users" . I have checked and rechecked settings. They are both unselected in "open in new window" . What am I missing??

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Rob Severijns

Paul,

Could it be that when you switched as a non-user your browser cache or browser history made you show the pages?

Does your website require a login?

Providing the URL to your website might give us a clue.

You can do this in a PM if you don't want to expose any more data before the problem is solved.

Rob

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
mahesh
7 hours ago, Paul McKnight said:

Thanks for your input but none of the 2  individuals are "users" . I have checked and rechecked settings. They are both unselected in "open in new window" . What am I missing??

You may have done this already but the media must be tagged to  a living person for your setting to take effect.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Paul McKnight

Thanks everyone. I found it. If the individual is living, the media attached to this person "always viewable" must be unchecked. Looks like I have a bit of cleanup to do. Thanks for your quick responses. Cheers from steamy Florida.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Ken Roy

Paul,

The same would apply to pictures linked to Private inidivuals, so it might be best to leave that box unchecked.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Paul McKnight

Good point.  Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×