TNG Community
mcmacey

Uploading media files and hyperlinks

mcmacey

Hi. Struggling newbie here. I read on the Wiki a suggestion that (as a workaround losing all the media I'd previously loaded in Ancestry), I could create my GEDCOM file using FTM so that I could preserve the links to my media files downloaded on to my Mac.

I have done this and created the local file path in TNG to mirror the location of my FTM media files. When I look at the contents of the FTM GEDCOM file, the OBJE links are all still pointing to Ancestry pages rather than to my local files so it doesn't seem to be possible to marry up the database records with the media files.

Does anyone have any advice to offer - am I missing something obvious?

Betty

theKiwi

When you did the export, did you export for GEDCOM?

image.png

Roger

fluffy82
5 hours ago, theKiwi said:

When you did the export, did you export for GEDCOM?

In addition to that, I have noticed that you get better results if you choose "FTM 2012" as destination, after choosing export as gedcom.

mcmacey

Hi

Thanks for replying. First, I did export to GEDCOM. The screenshot shows a bit of the file.Screenshot 2021-02-26 at 13.33.30.png

I have managed to upload some of the files from the FTM media file, and the links seem to work for those.  However it looks as though the files that originate in Ancestry  fail to write to TNG as per the next screenshot, even though I can open them on my local disk, make copies etc.

Screenshot 2021-02-26 at 13.31.16.png

I am beginning to despair. Help much appreciated.

Betty

PS if there is another screenshot please ignore it, I think I solved that issue but it won't delete from this message

Screenshot 2021-02-26 at 13.06.07.png

Edited by mcmacey
Unwanted screenshot won't delete

fluffy82
44 minutes ago, mcmacey said: