TNG Community
aaraujo

Reuse of citations

aaraujo
My wife loves this program! And we've been using it for the past 3-4 years (I think). She is extremely meticulous in all the data that she collects and the research that she performs. I am a programmer myself, and I make small changes here and there to be able to use the program more like she wants to.

An example is the header on the people pages:

[see image 1]

So she can easily navigate back and forth in the generations.

One thing she would really like is:

She wants to be able to "reuse" citations. It's not really the "Copy Last" functionality that already exists... she wants to be able, at any time, to go to, for example, an event, and click on the citations icon, and be able to search for an existing citation and attach that citation to the event. A similar functionality exists within media, where I can pick "Citation" in the dropdown:

[see image 2]

then click on the magnifying glass and get the form:

[see image 3]

I suspect that in doing something like this, the citation would be duplicated (with a new ID), but she wouldn't have to input all of the details of the citation again. It would be even better, in my opinion, if it actually reused the original citation and somehow "linked" that same citation to the other event, but that might cause some other issues down the road, if she were to edit a citation and not realize that it is associated to more than one event.

The reason for this, is that, for example, she finds an article about a given person... that article might contain numerous facts, like what sports/clubs/organizations the person was involved in during their college years. Since it is a single article, if that article spawns multiple facts, she is forced to input the citation multiple times, once for each fact. Potentially, any media that is associated with that citation could be automatically associated to the additional facts... but that might be something along the lines of: