TNG Community
SharonM

New to HTML - help with coding please

SharonM

I am very new to HTML - I'm having to learn it because I want to create history pages based on historytemplate.php, and I need to be able to format my text etc so it looks good on screen.

At the moment I have two history files, the first (rogues1.php) was created by converting a Word file from Word into HTML, and copying the html into  my new file. This has resulted in a lot of messy code, but thanks to Newfloridian some of this has been stripped out.

The second (jamesmcaleerstory.php) was created by copying and pasting the contents of another Word document directly into a second php file, and starting the formatting from there. This is a much tidier file. 

Both are still very much a work in progress, so please be understanding.

I've been using the forums and online HTML tutorial where I have been able to find something that seems to be what I want,  but sometimes I can't find an answer that works, and other times it seems to work in one file and not another. I'm sure I am going to be posting a lot of queries for help in the next few weeks, but my first two questions are these:

1. Why do the two files handle single and double quotes differently from each other? In one (rogues1.php), I can just enter them directly and the display perfectly - as in father's or "The Flight of the Allens".  In the other (jamesmcaleerstory.php) this produces and error - so here father's appears on the page as  father’s. In this file I have to use codes  ' and " . However, there is at least one example in this same file where I have typed "Peter's"  in the html document and it appears exactly as that with double and single quotes which is exactly what I wanted! 😩