TNG Community
MichelleD

Import GEDCOM appears to hang

MichelleD

I'm new to TNG and have a number of questions and am going to separate them into a couple of threads rather than confuse things with unrelated questions all in one thread.

I have TNG in a subfolder of my root. I got it working. Everything seemed good. I plan to manage my files on my desktop using the latest version of FTM. So, I exported my GEDCOM, converted it using the FTM to TNG GEDCOM converter and then imported. I was really pleased with how seamlessly this seemed to work. 

Then I integrated with Wordpress using the Kloosterman method. http://www.amongourancestors.com

Because I am creating a lot of links to TNG records and reports in my blog, I figured before I got too far with my blog I should update and reimport my GEDCOM and make sure the links all still work.  I checked the option to "Replace all current data." This is the correct way to do this, right? I would anticipate needing to update my TNG database this way about 2x month. 

Well, when I try to import the updated GEDCOM, TNG just hangs forever on the "uploading" screen. It appears to be doing absolutely nothing. So then I tried uploading the GEDCOM to my server using FTP first and then selecting it for import into TNG and I had the same problem. 

I finally "stopped" the process. But then I look at my admin log and I see the import has actually happened as it should. 

Is there a way to fix this? And if there isn't, maybe I shouldn't worry about it since the import seems to be happening even when it doesn't appear to be?

bhemph

What version of TNG are you using?  What version of PHP?  I thought that I had seen messages about the import seeming to hang and that a fix had been implemented.

MichelleD

TNG 12.1 and PHP 5.6.40

MichelleD

Okay, I increased to 7.2. But it is still happening. I'm happy the GEDCOM is updating anyhow, but would still love to solve this. 

manofmull

Michelle