TNG Community

pictures not downloading with gedcom file

bittone

wE ARE HAVING OUR FAMILY REUNION July 5 - 7 2019 in a few weeks.  I would  like to have a decendant chart printed for the reunion.  However, when I down load the gedcome, pictures are not coming into the gedcom download.  1.  What am I doing wrong  I imported the gedcom into Roots 7, and its a disaster.  2. does anyone have experience with printing large decendant charts with local printers like OfficeDepot or other local commercial printers?

I'm a novice

so maybe the pictures are not suppose to down load.  If not is there a way to fix this, I would like to have a descendant chart printed for a family reunion but the gedcom is not download the pictures with the individuals, how do I fix this?

2 hours ago, bittone said:

I would  like to have a decendant chart printed for the reunion.  However, when I down load the gedcome, pictures are not coming into the gedcom download.  1.  What am I doing wrong

You are doing nothing wrong - the pictures will NOT transfer with a GEDCOM file - only the LINKS to the pictures will transfer.

So if you want the images to show up with the data once you import that data into say RootsMagic, then you have to download the images folders as well as the GEDCOM file and once you import the GEDCOM file, then go through and tell RootsMagic where the images are. Take a look at this article

http://tng.lythgoes.net/wiki/index.php?title=Media_-_Import

and consider it from the reverse direction - i.e. you want to set up a structure on your local computer that mirrors the structure on TNG (that article is more about getting TNG to import media, but the same principles apply.

Roger