TNG Community
KatziesDad

Getting photos to import along with GEDCOM

KatziesDad

Hi, I am quite new to TNG, so please excuse me if my question is answered in a help file somewhere.

I have been using the My Heritage "family site".  I have many photos and documents which are attached to people.  When I export a GEDCOM, My Heritage produces something like this for each photo:

1 OBJE
2 FORM jpg
2 FILE https://www.myheritageimages.com/C/storage/site126006541/files/50/05/29/500529_478549db72lf527xe05rar.jpg
2 TITL Sinclair -- Arthurson marriage

When I subsequently import the file into TNG, the photos are all there, in that each individual has the right number of photos, and I can view them.  However, they haven't been imported.  TNG just keeps the link, and displays the photo which is still over on the My Heritage site.  The photos subfolder is empty.  How can I get the photos imported and tell TNG to throw out the link?

I haven't been able to generate thumbnails, either, but that is probably related to this problem.

manofmull

Upload the pics yourself to the appropriate TNG folder using an ftp program. I'd recommend ftpcommander.

TNG has different media types i.e. photos,  documents, headstones etc..

Just ensure that you upload your media images to the correct folders.

You can upload them when adding media in admin directly from your pc, but using ftp is faster and easier.

What you have at present are just external links.

Michael

Scott_Pryer

You may have another issue with the link provided by My Heritage.  Do you have photos stored on your PC?

In your example is 500529_478549db72lf527xe05rar.jpg the actual file name as stored on your  computer or a name assigned by My Heritage?

Your GEDCOM filename must match the file that is ultimately in the TNG website photos folder exactly.

What I did with my 7000 photo's was upload all photos into the TNG website photos folder using an FTP program (mine happens to be FileZilla)