TNG Community

Why are some files now highlighted in red on my hosting server?

SharonM

Hi There,

First can I say that I have been using TNG v9 since 2012 and I love it. 😃

Secondly I need to confess that I am completely out of my depth when it comes to talking about servers, php files, SQL etc and all that sort of thing, so please treat me gently and excuse the ignorance which I am bound to show. It is also the reason why I have never upgraded to later versions of TNG - I remember the confusion and difficulty i had setting up my website initially, but, after a few months it was up and running and for my simple needs works perfectly and still does.

Finally, I should let you know that I don't get chance to do genealogy much these days, and it must be nearly 2 years since I updated the data on my website (although my desktop software (Family Historian 6.2) was last updated in Nov 2017. It is because I now want to update my website data that I have logged into my hosting server, and noticed what may or may not be a problem - hence this post as I am unsure what, if anything, I need to do.  

I think my problem might be related to chMod codes - which I understand are about file permissions. Having logged onto my hosting server, I have seen that some of the TNG software files in the main (root?) folder are highlighted in red - this is something that wasn't happening before. These files all have permission codes of 666.  All of the other files have codes of 664; some folders have 755 and others 711, but these are not highlighted so presumably are ok.  I have looked in some of the subfolders and the files in them seem to be ok, with the exception of the genback folder - every file in there is highlighted in red even though they have chmod codes of 664. 

In total there about 10  txt and php files in the main folder - eg  adminlog.txt and config.php, and all the bak files   - about  32 - in the genbak folder.