TNG Community
Morten Solberg

Importing media files

Morten Solberg

First of all, I am a beginner with TNG, and sometimes feels like a blockhead, asking stupid questions that may have been discussed and answered in this forum earlier.

So far all data has been imported correctly to TNG, no problems. My problem is how to import media files like .jpg .pdf etc. I have all such files stored in ONE folder, called Media, which work fine with my Legacy setup. I remember to have read that all these files can be imported in one bulk to TNG (and that TNG will automatically "see" photos and documents by its file type). Can anyone tell me where to start in TNG to have this done or refer to a link where this is explained in detail? I have to say I prefer a "cookbook" reference of how this should be done, as I need to learn this from scratch.

Thanks in advance from Morten Solberg in Norway

Kelly B

I don’t import my photos in mass because of copyright, but I have a thought on the Legacy side of the import.  First, when you create the file in Legacy, first select to export as a gedcom, but the next screen, select Legacy as the file type.  That is how I was told to do mine (without media though).  On the TNG side, check replace all current data.  Hopefully that works for you.

Morten Solberg

Sorry, I don't follow you on this. As far as I know, it is not possible to include the .jpg or .pdf files along with the Gedcom transfer. Only the path for where to find the file is included in the Gedcom file, right?

tngrlkrz
11 hours ago, Morten Solberg said:

Only the path for where to find the file is included in the Gedcom file, right?

Kelly I think was suggesting that, "without media" , i.e., not the physical files.