Jump to content
TNG Community
Hava

How not to display a certain person in a tree without deleting it

Recommended Posts

Hava

Last week some members in my tree want me to erase their record and connections.

I deleted their records but now, on second thought, I want to add them back but with a mark that they won't be displayed.

I tried to mark a person private and  set the privacy: Show Names for Private: NO  Show Living Data: Depending on user rights

but it didn't do anything. 

Is there possibility to do it? How?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
manofmull

You say it didn't do anything. I think that's because you are viewing as admin/owner (see all). Try a test username and you won't see private.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Chris Lloyd

A quick way to view your site as a visitor is to use a different web browser that you are not logged into your site. I actually use a different computer so I can see how the changes I make appear to any visitor.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hava

Thank you Chris Lloyd and manofmull. I follow your posts and on visitor i see now "Private".

Is there a possibility that only I as admin can see a person but anonymous visitor  will not see any hint (even not Private square) for those persons that made me delete theirs records?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
manofmull

Anyone in your database marked "private" can only be seen by you or anyone you've given permission. For all visitors to your site, this "private" person does not exist for them i.e. they will see nothing, so cannot complain to you.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×